News Feed Bot

Want us to add a feature to the forum? Post here.

Votes

  • Broadcastre, Dracula

Status

User avatar
Dracula
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 214
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2020 6:37 am
Location: North Carolina or in the Moderation Queue
Mood:

News Feed Bot

Post by Dracula »

@Broadcastre

I understand why you deleted the news feed bot, but I think it would be a good idea to reenable it and just setting up the proper forum to be autopruned. Autopruning topics that are older than 3-7 days should keep the database size in check while maintaining it's functionality. I doubt anyone would look at old newsfeed topics anyway.

Formally known as Random American.
Non-Administrator related posts by me do not represent the positions of Broadcastre Computer Chat.

User avatar
Broadcastre
Owner
Owner
Posts: 297
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2020 8:33 pm
Worf’s avatar
Loading…

Re: News Feed Bot

Post by Broadcastre »

I’ll think about it.
► Show Spoiler
User avatar
Dracula
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 214
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2020 6:37 am
Location: North Carolina or in the Moderation Queue
Mood:

Re: News Feed Bot

Post by Dracula »

Broadcastre wrote: Sat Dec 05, 2020 8:15 am I’ll think about it.
I re-enabled it as a test. Pruning is active, topics get pruned after one day. That should keep it from clogging up the database. If you don't like what I did, I'll delete it again.
Last edited by Dracula on Fri Dec 11, 2020 6:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Reduced pruning to one day. Added more information.

Formally known as Random American.
Non-Administrator related posts by me do not represent the positions of Broadcastre Computer Chat.

User avatar
Broadcastre
Owner
Owner
Posts: 297
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2020 8:33 pm
Worf’s avatar
Loading…

Re: News Feed Bot

Post by Broadcastre »

That’s fine. I was busy so I completely forgot about the news thing
► Show Spoiler
User avatar
Dracula
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 214
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2020 6:37 am
Location: North Carolina or in the Moderation Queue
Mood:

Re: News Feed Bot

Post by Dracula »

Just for the record, this has been disabled again, except the youtube feed. No one used it, and it just took up space.

Formally known as Random American.
Non-Administrator related posts by me do not represent the positions of Broadcastre Computer Chat.